Author Topic: Small Seleucid army - help  (Read 14661 times)

Michal Ciemniewski

Small Seleucid army - help
« on: March 01, 2008, 10:56:35 AM »
Hi,

I am new to DBMM. I have been playing DBA for a 2 years now and I would like to start DBMM. I have decided to collect Seleucids [320-280]. I will collect them for DBA and for DBMM.

I think about a small DBMM army. Maby 300AP? Could You help me with my first rooster?

Barritus

Re: Small Seleucid army - help
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2008, 12:03:40 PM »
G'day Michal, and welcome to the fourm.

What experience do you have with DBMM? Not much?

If you have little experience with DBMM, my first suggestion would be to use post-280 Seleucids if you have any choice about it. The pre-280 list gives you a lot more elephants, but at the cost of including compulsory Ax (O). This makes no difference in DBA, but is a more serious issue in DBMM. In the post-280 list, the Ax (O) are replaced by compulsory Ax (S). In DBMM they cost only 1 AP more, but they are 1 Morale Equivalent each, where Ax (O) are only 0.5 ME each. DBMM also makes (S) troops much more powerful than (O), and Ax (S) have a Quick Kill against Spear. Elephants are a powerful weapon, but they are hard to use well. Altogether, I think this makes the 280-205 Seleucids more useful than the 320-280 Seleucids. Of course, none of this stops you from having 320-280 Seleucids for your DBA army - all of the elements you'd need in that would already be in your DBMM army.