DBMM Forum
General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: foxgom on June 07, 2015, 08:38:17 PM
-
Hi
I advance in open terrain to end in contact wil the enemy.
I need most of my move distance in open terrain to reach the enemy.
I use "extra movement to line up" to adjust the contact.
My element on the end of my line slides such that he is now in a wood.
Is that ok, or has he moved too far by ending in difficult terrain and thus shortening his legal move distance?
neil
-
A good question.
1. It seems to me that it is generally accepted that the EMTLU is not part of the original move, so you can use your good going distance to make contact, then use the extra 80p to enter the terrain.
2. However, when a move is required to end lined up with enemy, it is generally accepted that only the end-state after the EMTLU is relevant.
2 appears to be intended by the rules as written.
1 can't really be deduced either way from the rules as written. When I originally read the rules I thought the opposite was intended, i.e. only the end-state after the EMTLU was relevant to deciding your allowable move distance.
Lawrence Greaves