DBMM Forum

General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: Phippsy on December 27, 2017, 07:08:03 AM

Title: Spontaneous Advance
Post by: Phippsy on December 27, 2017, 07:08:03 AM
Had a situation the other day - impetuous Kn had to spontaneous advance, towards a wood and stopped at the edge. Inside the wood is a fast warband, and when the Kn reached the wood it actually went into the TZ of the Wb. Next bound the Kn is impetuous again, but I believe the Kn as mounted cannot enter the wood, and cannot move straight forwards out of the TZ. Is it just a stalemate until
One of the elements make a normal voluntary move. Thoughts appreciated.

Title: Re: Spontaneous Advance
Post by: LawrenceG1 on December 28, 2017, 05:56:56 PM
Correct.

(The warband could make a sponno move out of the wood to attack the knight).
Note that moving straight ahead a full move through a TZ is only for tactical moves, not sponno moves (also not march moves). Some of the other straight ahead moves through a TZ are allowed for sponno moves, e.g. into contact with an enemy front edge.
Title: Re: Spontaneous Advance
Post by: Phippsy on December 29, 2017, 09:51:20 AM
Hi Lawrence and thanks.

I had been used to DBA and some of the nuances around DBMM have been taking a little time to embed.

Also really good to get a response. I tend to find that the DBA Fanaticus site is more active than this DBMM one. But will keep trying.

Also out of interest - if that spontaneous knight has to move forwards under spontaneous advance moves and reaches the enemy base edge - does it just stop there again until it is voluntarily moved, or contacted by enemy etc. As further spontaneous advances do not take it off the board as a lost element.

Thanks

Peter
Title: Re: Spontaneous Advance
Post by: LawrenceG1 on December 29, 2017, 09:40:33 PM
It just stops there until it is voluntarily moved, or contacted by enemy etc.

NB if it reaches a side edge of the table it can follow that edge towards the enemy base edge ("enemy rear battlefield edge") but stops when it reaches it.

You can never spontaneously advance off the table.