DBMM Forum
General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: landmeister on October 01, 2007, 08:01:23 AM
-
Dear all.
These questions were already made before, but they received no answers, so I would appreciate some help about them again, sorry. :P
1. Scouting stratagem. What happens if I allocate 3 LH elements and I get 4, 5, and 6? Can I see all enemy ambushers or just the furthest forward?
2. Ambush stratagem. Can I ambush my general element inside a fortified BUA if I hide half its command in such BUA? And can I ambush my general and its Baggage in a wood?
3. Roads. Must a second or third road always cross/join the previous one? Where must those 2000p be calculated from?
4. Can an invader put a Lake and a wood? I read all other terrains are discarded if I put a WW, L, S. Right?
Thank you and forgive me for being so insistent ;D
-
I would assume with the scouting that you took the best result from all the dice you threw.
You can only ambush a general (I think) if all the rest of his command is in ambush. I don't think baggage can deploy in difficult going??? Remember only half the elements in a BUA can be in ambush.
Pass - I need to check in the rules.
Yes - WW, L and S are mutally impossible but do not prevent other terrain (Thermopylae?).
-
4. Can an invader put a Lake and a wood? I read all other terrains are discarded if I put a WW, L, S. Right?
No he cannot an Invader only has 0-2FE to choose from a Lake is a water feature which is a linear feature which equals 2FE so he has no more FE to "spend"
An Invader can thus only pick 1 water feature for his terrain and no other feature (other than the 1st unpaved road)
The bit you are misreading is that only 1 S WW or L can be used - If I have placed an L your S, L or WW would be discarded (but only those features) - there can be only one large body of water. (not including rivers as large bodies of water)
Regards
David Mather
-
Dear all.
3. Roads. Must a second or third road always cross/join the previous one? Where must those 2000p be calculated from?
I dont believe so - it would only be if the second/third road were on the same edges as the first
So lets assume my first road goes down N to W (where N is your deployment edge)
If the dice for the second road land S & W then it does not need to touch/cross etc the first road because it does not have the same 2 edges as the first
"Roads between the same 2 edges as a road previously placed must cross or join and be separated at battlefield edges by at least 2,000p."
Regards
David Mather
-
Dear all.
2. Can I ambush my general element inside a fortified BUA if I hide half its command in such BUA? And can I ambush my general and its Baggage in a wood?
Toby has answered most of this - Baggage cannot be placed in ambush -
Note - Not all ambush positions are difficult going
Bg(F) can not only deploy in difficult going it can move in it as well
Regards
David Mather
-
Ok. Thank you very much for your responses. ;)