DBMM Forum
General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: Neil Williamson on April 10, 2021, 01:48:21 AM
-
Say I have some impetuous LH(S) in a group and I wish to expand the frontage.
Do I have to hold the rest of the group when the column expands?
So if I'm the group below, is it just 1 pip as a whole group move, or is it regarded as 2 groups (GNOP being separate sub group, see below) and therefore 2 pips. 1 to hold and one to expand the GNOP column?
Original formation
A B C D E F G
H I J K L M N
O
P
New formation
ABCDEFGO
HI JKLMNP
Ref. pages 28 and 29 in the rule book (32 to 33 in later reprints)
-
Expanding a column only involves the elements in the column. You have to hold the elements that are not in the column separately.
In this case 1 PIP to expand the column, 1 PIP to halt everyone else.
Top Tip: When using ASCII art, use the "code" tag to set a fixed width font.
Original formation
ABCDEFG
HIJKLMN
O
P
New formation
ABCDEFGO
HIJKLMNP
-
Thanks and thanks for the tip
Looks like ive been playing it incorrectly for 3 years
-
The way the rules are written tends to lead to a lot of that.
In this particular case it is "expand a column" not "expand the frontage of a unit" which is the usual formulation in other rules, so it's an easy mistake to make.