DBMM Forum

General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: Neil Williamson on July 05, 2021, 07:35:47 AM

Title: Arrival Surprise
Post by: Neil Williamson on July 05, 2021, 07:35:47 AM
At our recent tournament in Wellington, I came across different interpretations of the Arrival Surprise rule.

Several players interpreted the rule that the flee rule is applied when the flanking elements are placed on the table ie. they flee in their opponent's bound. The place of arrival being where the flank marchers actually enter.

Others played it that they flee in their own bound, immediately after their opponent has declared the arrival of a flank march. In this case  the place if arrival is any potential point on the flank or rear edge as appropriate for a 5 or a 6 on the PIP die.

And the correct interpretation is...?   
Title: Re: Arrival Surprise
Post by: LawrenceG1 on July 05, 2021, 11:36:37 AM
And the correct interpretation is...

the flee rule is applied when the flanking elements are placed on the table ie. they flee in their opponent's bound. The place of arrival being where the flank marchers actually enter.

Title: Re: Arrival Surprise
Post by: Neil Williamson on July 05, 2021, 09:32:05 PM
Thank you for your prompt reply.
Interestingly, the other interpretation was from some players who had been playing a long time.
I wonder if it was different under earlier ruleset editions, or dbm.
I've only played 2.1
I'll post this on our Facebook group.
Thanks again
Title: Re: Arrival Surprise
Post by: LawrenceG1 on July 06, 2021, 11:00:38 AM
Interpreting "place of arrival" as "the place where something arrives" is simpler than interpreting it as "the set of all places where something might potentially arrive".

This was also the practice in earlier versions of DBMM and its predecessor, DBM.