DBMM Forum

General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: landmeister on October 27, 2007, 07:26:14 PM

Title: Wrong diagrams
Post by: landmeister on October 27, 2007, 07:26:14 PM
Hi,

Diagrams 6b and 24a are wrong. I'm afraid. In 6a the advancing warband is not contacting A's front edge with its front edge, but with its front corner. On page 32 is specified that only front to front contact is possible moving straight forward.

In 24a, element X has one option only, lining up against Y. Element X is not part of a group, so can't choose option 1.

Has anyone informed Phil of this?

Thank you
Title: Re: Wrong diagrams
Post by: andrew on November 01, 2007, 05:29:58 AM
Have you got a copy of the pictures in question?  My 24a doesn't look like you described it - element X stops when element Y makes contact - although my version is March 2007....

Regarding the Wb picture 6b - is a front corner considered a front edge given you can shift/pivot to make a legal contact?

Andrew
Title: Re: Wrong diagrams
Post by: landmeister on November 01, 2007, 08:27:54 AM
Have you got a copy of the pictures in question?  My 24a doesn't look like you described it - element X stops when element Y makes contact - although my version is March 2007....

Ooops. You're right!  :P I wanted to say Diagram 24C!!!!!!  ;D Sorry.

Regarding the Wb picture 6b - is a front corner considered a front edge given you can shift/pivot to make a legal contact?

No. Corners are NOT an integral part of ANY edge. This is why they are treated separatedly on page 33, and this is the reaosn for I make this question, because the rules specify that you can move as far as possible to escape from an enemy TZ without contacting  any enemy except except to front edge to front edge, and not front to front and/or corner. Blame Barkerese, not me.  :-[

Thank you again for the help.
Title: Re: Wrong diagrams
Post by: andrew on November 01, 2007, 09:51:38 AM
With the Wb - I think the intention with the picture is correct but he hasn't stated (in the picture) that you can get up to 80p of free movement to pivot and/or shift into legal contact.  So I think the situation is caught under bullet point 4 (under TZ) considering the pivot/shift allowance.

I'm now more confused about diagram 24c - are you referring to Blade X being in the TZ of both Spears C and D?

Andrew
Title: Re: Wrong diagrams
Post by: landmeister on November 02, 2007, 08:50:24 PM
I'm now more confused about diagram 24c - are you referring to Blade X being in the TZ of both Spears C and D?

In 24c, spear D has one option only, lining up front to front. Element D is not part of a group, so can't choose option 1.

Just curiosity? Are you and me the only guys writing in this forum or are our questions so ridiculous?  ;D

Thank you
Title: Re: Wrong diagrams
Post by: Sgt Steiner on November 03, 2007, 10:27:09 AM
Hi


> Just curiosity? Are you and me the only guys writing in this forum or are our questions so ridiculous?  ;D

Not ridiculous I think its just that many have had same queries and use the Yahoo Group to try to resolve them.
Much more active than this forum (a pity as this is good format) but a lot of 'noise' as well :-)

Cheers


Title: Re: Wrong diagrams
Post by: landmeister on November 03, 2007, 01:15:17 PM
Not ridiculous I think its just that many have had same queries and use the Yahoo Group to try to resolve them.
Much more active than this forum (a pity as this is good format) but a lot of 'noise' as well :-)

I understand. I've tried it there too, but same result...everyone ignoring me!  :'(
Title: Re: Wrong diagrams
Post by: toby on November 05, 2007, 11:22:11 AM
I've been on holiday for the last week and on a business trip the week before that.

When I get home, I'll have a look and put something on the main site, even if it is just an open question in the clarifications section.

Toby
Title: Re: Wrong diagrams
Post by: landmeister on November 05, 2007, 02:45:43 PM
Holidays?? What's that!! ;D I envy you...

Thank you.
Title: Re: Wrong diagrams
Post by: DaveMather on November 05, 2007, 08:08:03 PM
I believe he was in holiday in Wales - trust me that is nothing to be envious of  ;)

Having had access to my main rules at the weekend and hence the diagrams I would concur that 24c is very likely wrong.

I have emailed Toby off list as it will need to be Toby or Geoff who adds to the errata/clarifcations section.

 

Title: Re: Wrong diagrams
Post by: toby on November 05, 2007, 09:03:00 PM
I have put something in the errata section. It does seem to be wrong, which is unusual for Chris, so I may be mistaken myself.
Title: Re: Wrong diagrams
Post by: Geoff Pearson on November 06, 2007, 09:55:16 AM
I contacted Chris Hanley who did the diagrams for Phil and this was his reply:-

"Geoff,
This is an old one that we knew about soon after publication.  Originally there was another element behind D but without realising the implications it was removed due to space constraints on the page.  I would suggest adding the phrase "assume D is part of a group"
 Chris."

Best Regards
Geoff
Title: Re: Wrong diagrams
Post by: landmeister on November 06, 2007, 11:29:17 AM
So I wasn't wrong after all  ;D

Now I feel I'm finally "one of you". No one else has seen it before...except me (and Geoff, and Toby, and Chris, and Phil, of course)!  ;D

You've made me happy  :)

Thank you