DBMM Forum

General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: SteveC on November 23, 2007, 03:44:27 PM

Title: Spontaneous Movement (Figure 7)
Post by: SteveC on November 23, 2007, 03:44:27 PM
Hello,

I've only had the rules for a couple of days, so am still a complete beginner, but I have a question I would like to ask.

In Fig. 7, Impetuous Warband Y 'Moves as far as possible straight forward' to contact Pike P as per the rules governing Threat Zone P32 Bullet 4.

This bullet also says 'without contacting any enemy except front edge-to-front edge.'

So, as during its movement it appears to contact the side edge of Bow A why is this still a legal move?

Thanks, Steve

Title: Re: Spontaneous Movement (Figure 7)
Post by: landmeister on November 24, 2007, 07:53:23 PM
In Fig. 7, Impetuous Warband Y 'Moves as far as possible straight forward' to contact Pike P as per the rules governing Threat Zone P32 Bullet 4.

This bullet also says 'without contacting any enemy except front edge-to-front edge.'

So, as during its movement it appears to contact the side edge of Bow A why is this still a legal move?

Thanks, Steve

Hi,

Page 30, spontaneous advance directions: "Its direction must be:...(second bullet) ...Unless in column [...] move its front edge into contact or overlap with visible enemy in reach ANY PART OF WHICH IS IN FRONT...". No matter it contacts Bow A's side edge. It's simply not in front and Pikes P are.
Title: Re: Spontaneous Movement (Figure 7)
Post by: SteveC on November 24, 2007, 08:17:31 PM
Thanks for clearing that up,

Looking at it again, I see that I was completely misunderstanding the phrase 'obligation to conform in an enemy TZ' as applying to the rule itself, and not to any movement the spontaneous element itself can or cannot make.  :-[

Steve
Title: Re: Spontaneous Movement (Figure 7)
Post by: LAP1964 on November 25, 2007, 11:38:40 PM
Have a look on page 33 moving into close combat last paragraph,that should make it clear.
                                                        Les.