DBMM Forum
General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: landmeister on May 06, 2008, 09:54:13 AM
-
I have a new question raised from my last game.
My Kn recoiled from close combat and contacted an enemy front. What happens now? On page 40 is said that neither has to conform, but this is contradictory with the 80p extra move rule (which is always compulsory). Am I missing something or the answer is...nothing at all? ??? :-\
Thanks
-
P.40 gives you a specific exemption to lining up, so you don't have to (although you could if you wish).
Next movement bound, however, there is no such exemption, so one or the other of the elements will have to line up then, assuming that they're still in contact.
Tim Child
-
Next movement bound, however, there is no such exemption, so one or the other of the elements will have to line up then, assuming that they're still in contact.
I see. This raises a new question. Who decides which element conforms? Depending on the selection the final situation will be different. Both players will want to select the most advantageous for him! ???
Thanks
-
The rules on page 33 decide who has to conform - generally the moving element has to conform to the non-moving one.
As far as I can see an element recoiling into contact will never actually exert a TZ on the element it contacts (because the blocking element will always be to its rear), so the blocking element will be perfectly free to move away and/or make legal contact possibly in a variety of ways.
-
...so the blocking element will be perfectly free to move away and/or make legal contact possibly in a variety of ways.
Do you mean the enemy element I recoiled into?
Thank you
-
Yes - you recoil straight backwards, so the enemy you contact will never be TZ-ed by your recoiling element as far as I can see(although it may be TZ-ed by other elements of course)
-
Ok. Thank you. ;)