DBMM Forum
General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: foxgom on May 11, 2008, 08:32:18 PM
-
Hi
my LH is attacked by two Cav, one from the front, one in flank contact.
I roll two up on my opponent and thus manage a draw.
If I have a draw, I can decide to repulse.
I cannot find anything to say that a repulse is not possible if my element is contacted in the flank.
It looks very un-DBM-ish (break-offs were not allowed under such circumstances), but we?re not playing DBM !
Have I missed something?
Can an element repulse even if it has enemy in frontal edge contact with it?s flank?
neil fox
-
No, I think that you're right.
Rule 1 - this is not DBM. :)
Tim Child
-
Seems reasonable - there's nothing to stop it doing the initial recoil any more.
-
I'm afraid I disagree.
Rules on page 38 are very clear. "Destroyed if a mounted or foot element with an enemy front edge in contact with its flank or in edge and corner-to-corner with its rear".
Your element CAN'T repulse because it's previously destroyed.
-
Oooops! Sorry, I didn't read it was a draw!! :P ;D
Please, ignore my previous message :-X :D
-
te he he - yes that's what I thought first too - but like you when checking the actual rules it's all different now!
Having an enemy in contact with yuor flank doesnt' stop you recoiling like it did in DBM. Instead if you have that situation then you are killed by losing a combat - in DBM you were recoiled and then killed because in "recoil" it said yuo were killed INSTEAD of recoiling if you had such an enemy.
The same outcome but a different way of achieving it with implications for all sorts of things.
-
te he he - yes that's what I thought first too - but like you when checking the actual rules it's all different now!
Having an enemy in contact with yuor flank doesnt' stop you recoiling like it did in DBM. Instead if you have that situation then you are killed by losing a combat - in DBM you were recoiled and then killed because in "recoil" it said yuo were killed INSTEAD of recoiling if you had such an enemy.
The same outcome but a different way of achieving it with implications for all sorts of things.
Sadly there seems to be no option but this interpretation.
The downside is, that even cv can now evade lh (f) that beset it on all sides (but the rear) back to the cv's own lines.... seems a little odd. A Case for dbmm 1.1.?
honk
-
Considering that this is a situation in which the Cv has just fought off 3 times its own number of LH(F), this might not be as odd as you may think!
Tim Child
-
corect, having played the rule more often now, it feels correct, that when winning or drawing in such a situation, the element should be elegible to withdraw (the real problem to the mind is the word "repulse" for a fighting retreat).
tilman