DBMM Forum
General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: foxgom on May 14, 2008, 06:50:53 PM
-
Hi
my 15mm element of Psiloi is facing "forward" towards the enemy long table edge.
It is 10cm from the left table edge when an enemy flank march arrives on that edge.
My Psiloi must flee from that table edge.
It turns 90 degrees to the right.
How exactly does it turn before it starts to flee?
Is its rear edge 10cm from the table edge after the turn or is it 12cm from the table edge?
Fairly trivial, I know, but it can make the difference between being contacted in the rear or not.
Thanks for all the replies I?m getting !
neil fox
-
10cm IMO - I can't see a definition of "turn" in the rules like the definition of "wheel" and "pivot" on page 28, but I think that the sentence at the top of pasge 33 "Moving into Close Combat" applies:
Troops that would move into close combat in real life must do so in the game. Geometric ploys cannot be used to prevent contact"
Getting out of reach by turning and getting an extra 2cm seperation definitely sounds like a geometric ploy to me :) So IMO the part of the element that is most likely to get hit remains stationary in the turn (IMO), and then moves the required distance
-
Further to Mike's comment, my view is that the turn is part of the move. So you measure the flee move in the normal manner, by measuring the furthest start-to-finish corner distance, except that according to p.41 you measure "between the nearest rear corners from before [any initial] recoil to after the flee."
Tim Child