DBMM Forum
General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: landmeister on May 17, 2008, 09:01:32 AM
-
Dear all,
This is what I call a bug in the rules :(. Mounted troops count as being uslpoe when their rear edge (in their bound) is upslope of all its opponent, as is said on page 37. Well, in my last game, my elephant was frontally fighting an enemy Bd on a GH. My element was in the middle of the crest, with my front being 1 cm away from the crest (and so fighting upslope of all my opponent)...but the other 3 cm were on the opposite slope. This means that my rear WAS NOT upslope of all the Bd!!! (1 cm + 1.5 cm are 2.5 cm) :o >:(.
Is this the aim of the rules??? :-[ :(
Thank you.
-
Er, I think it is. That is, the aim of the rule.
Mind you, Phil is mainly writing this for horses. He maintains that horses get an advantage when riding down slopes. So mounted only get upslope in their bound, and the rear edge is so mounted can ride off the slope, and still get an advantage if their enemy is on the flat. Sort of momentum thing.
So theoretically you could replicate Gandalf riding down the hill at Helm's Deep, with a +2 for being a Brilliant General ;)
So you can say that the elephants are caught on the crest, and can't get enough momentum down the hill.
Hope this helps,
G^is,
JohnG
-
Mind you, Phil is mainly writing this for horses. He maintains that horses get an advantage when riding down slopes. So mounted only get upslope in their bound, and the rear edge is so mounted can ride off the slope, and still get an advantage if their enemy is on the flat. Sort of momentum thing.
I see.
So theoretically you could replicate Gandalf riding down the hill at Helm's Deep, with a +2 for being a Brilliant General ;)
LOL ;D ;D
Thank you.
-
What about the situation where a mounted element is right next to the edge of a slope and is recoiled by its opponent in the opponents bound, ending up with its rear edge on the slope itself, does it then count as charging down, with the +1 for doing so, if the opposing element followed up?
-
What about the situation where a mounted element is right next to the edge of a slope and is recoiled by its opponent in the opponents bound, ending up with its rear edge on the slope itself, does it then count as charging down, with the +1 for doing so, if the opposing element followed up?
Technically speaking, yes. All conditions are met, although the situation is certainly weird :-\
-
What about the situation where a mounted element is right next to the edge of a slope and is recoiled by its opponent in the opponents bound, ending up with its rear edge on the slope itself, does it then count as charging down, with the +1 for doing so, if the opposing element followed up?
Yes.
Morale of the story is not to chase horse up a hill. They just charge back down on you..... :)
G^is,
JohnG
-
The real moral of the story is dont go near hills with enemy elements on them!!!
-
The moral of the story is that upslope only applies half the time now compared to DBM (where it applied every bound), so it is much less dangerous to the opponent than it used to be!
The obvious corollary is that it pays to know which half of the time it applies....