DBMM Forum
General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: landmeister on May 17, 2008, 02:50:35 PM
-
I'm talking about page 30, second bullet, direction of spontaneous advance.
An impetuous can move to contact or overlap any enemy in reach. Can I choose contacting or overlapping? In DBM you should make whatever supposed the shortest move, but I can't find any restriction in DBMM. Right?
Thank you.
-
You are paraphrasing the rules. P.30, middle section, 2nd bullet-point reads:
"Unless in column behind another moving element, to move its front edge into contact or overlap with the closest enemy element in reach part of which is directly in front, or if there is none, with the closest visible enemy element in reach any part of which is in front of a line extending its rear edge."
So (subject to any of the options under the other bullets and assuming that you aren't in a moving column) your impetuous element can only move into contact/overlap with the closes enemy element in reach in front of it, with priority being given to any that are directly ahead.
1. Is there enemy directly ahead that you can hit/overlap?
2. If Yes, move to the one that is closest.
3. If No, is there any other visible enemy that you can hit/overlap that is not entirely behind your element?
4. If Yes, charge the closest one.
5. If No, you can only move using one of the other bullet-points.
Tim Child
-
Thank you for your detailed answer, but this is not what I'm asking. I'm afraid I didn't explain myself clear enough. :P
So (subject to any of the options under the other bullets and assuming that you aren't in a moving column) your impetuous element can only move into contact/overlap with the closes enemy element in reach in front of it....
This is the key question. Can I choose contacting enemy flanks or overlapping when both option are equally possible? I would prefer contacting flanks as it means one or two enemies dead if recoiled ;D ;D. Distinction was clear in DBM: the shortest move. But in DBMM? ???
Thank you again
-
Yes - if both are available then you get to choose - as long as they are both on the same element which is the priority target for that bullet point.
-
Yes - if both are available then you get to choose - as long as they are both on the same element which is the priority target for that bullet point.
Right. This is just the case. Thank you very much.