DBMM Forum

General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: landmeister on July 16, 2008, 08:32:41 PM

Title: Was this flank attack correct?
Post by: landmeister on July 16, 2008, 08:32:41 PM
Dear all,

This question raised in my last game. Please, look at diagram included. My white element contacted the flank of element A. This supposed a simultaneous contact on the flank of B. In this situation we decided that B would use the free 80 p move to align to the rear of A and then both elements would turn to fight. Was it correct?

Thank you in advance.
Title: Re: Was this flank attack correct?
Post by: Doug M. on July 18, 2008, 07:28:43 AM
I would have the first blue element (A) turn to face, and push back the second as it has not been legally contacted. So no rear support.

cheers

Doug M.
Title: Re: Was this flank attack correct?
Post by: landmeister on July 18, 2008, 09:30:38 AM
I would have the first blue element (A) turn to face, and push back the second as it has not been legally contacted. So no rear support.

cheers

Doug M.

We certainly considered that option but we thought that a contact is a contact. It's not a legal one, of course, but the 80 p free move rule was specifically created to solve situations like this.  :-\
Title: Re: Was this flank attack correct?
Post by: Marcel Bos on July 18, 2008, 06:19:47 PM
we decided that B would use the free 80 p move to align to the rear of A and then both elements would turn to fight.

You can only use the 80p to line up with the enemy immediatly after the contact has taken place. Element B can't do that, so it can't use the 80p.
I would go for Doug's explanation.
Title: Re: Was this flank attack correct?
Post by: MikeCampbell on July 21, 2008, 12:43:04 AM
Page 35, "Turning to face", para 2:

Quote
If an elements front edge contacts the flanks or 2 or more such elements, ALL THESE TURN TO FACE if that furthest in frot must do so, the second and subsequent elements moving behind that in front.

I think this rule covers it adequately - every element hit on the flank turns to face if the front one does.  It doesn't matter whether the rear elements are struck on a whole front edge or l"legally" or not, nor whether they are grouped with the front element.
Title: Re: Was this flank attack correct?
Post by: landmeister on July 21, 2008, 03:42:18 PM
Phew! So we did it correctly!  ;D.
Title: Re: Was this flank attack correct?
Post by: Marcel Bos on July 21, 2008, 05:21:43 PM
Phew! So we did it correctly!  ;D.

So you were right about the endposition of the elements, great!  ;D
But I still think that the extra 80p for element B wasn't appropiate. At least it didn't matter this time.  ;)
Title: Re: Was this flank attack correct?
Post by: landmeister on July 22, 2008, 03:16:43 PM
So you were right about the endposition of the elements, great!  ;D
But I still think that the extra 80p for element B wasn't appropiate. At least it didn't matter this time.  ;)

I suppose so. I think that Mike hit the mark. Both elements were contacted on that flank so both turn to fight. The 80 p move is not applicable here.  :P