DBMM Forum
General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: landmeister on August 16, 2008, 10:44:46 AM
-
Hi again,
Please look at the diagram attached. Elements A, B, C and D are mounted. A and B are looking leftwards, C and D are a column looking down. Elements 1 and 2 are enemy foot. Element 2 has contacted the flank of A so it must line up. By doing so, element C must be shifted the minimum necessary to allow it, but then 2 will enter the TZ of element D. Is the flank attack cancelled then?
Thank you.
-
no need to move - it is legal as is.
the requirement to contact a flank is that 2 front corners msut be in contact IF POSSIBLE.
If that is not possible then the whole of the flank must be contacted - which is what you ahve there.
-
Thanks Mike,
But then we have another problem. On page 33, first para is read that: "If a moving's side element cannot line up in combat with enemy because of a blocking element that is not in close combat or providing rear support, the move is cancelled if this is a friendly element. If it is an enemy, it must be moved out of the way by...".
The rule is clear. The element MUST be moved out, so thit lining up move is possible. This situation opens a new dimension of contacts! :o
-
I'm not sure what you are getting at here - the situation as depicted is a legal contact so there is no requirement to move the enemy element at all.
-
I'm not sure what you are getting at here - the situation as depicted is a legal contact so there is no requirement to move the enemy element at all.
I disagree. A legal cantact MUST end with both front corners in contact if possible. If not, the whole flank must be contacted. In this case, element C can be shifted away. If D wasn't there, I wouldn't have made this question. ;D C would be shifted, period.
My question is, is the TZ of element D making the legal move to line up impossible?
Thank you.
-
Ok. Just read the Commentary. An enemy TZ is like an impassable terrain. I should have read it before disturbing this forum, sorry ;D
Thank for your patience, Mike! ;)