DBMM Forum
General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: foxgom on December 03, 2008, 09:03:31 PM
-
Hi
do I understand the rules correctly in thinking that it possible to "park" impetuous troops by pointing them towards my own baseline some distance from the enemy? By "park" I mean that they stay there without requiring PIPs.
neil fox
-
Yes you can do that as long as ther eis no routing enemy or enemy baggage within 400p.
It will then cost you buckets of PIPs to anything with them at all, and they are vulnerable to being attacked in their rear....but you can certainly do it :)
-
Additionally, you can't initially deploy them so. No one can be deployed looking at home ;D.
-
I also read somewhere (can't recall where - on the main list?) that you can 'park' your impetuous troops by deploying them facing one of your flanks.
-
yes you can do it facing the fank...I leave it to you to improve your knowledge of the rules by finding out why :)
(hint - it's to do with the direction you make a spontaneous advance....honestly - you need to know this)
-
Around here, an impetuous general (particularly a Kn) cheesily-deployed facing a flank to stop him running off un-pipped is described as "Ruddocked", after Dave of that ilk. ;)
For what it's worth, it's not a panacea. As soon as the impetuous elements would move closer to visible enemy they will start moving, which means that once there are enemy wider on the table than they are they will move off sideways. This can result in them being annoyingly out of position, or even feeling rather lonely as a horde of LH(S) come sweeping their way.
Tim Child
-
Mike
I said 'I can't recall where', not 'I can't recall why'. The point was made as a conversation piece given the discussion turned to deployment - I didn't intend to get a lecture on the subject. I frequently use impetuous troops so am more than familiar with impetuous moves; I elect to not be cheesy in my deployment of these types of troops. Is that ok? :)
Andrew
-
Andrew - sorry for not being psychic - I shall endeavour to give you 1 word answers in the future, since 2 lines is too much of a lecture for you.
-
Other ways to prevent spontaneous advances which can be to your advantage are to have your impetuous elements on top of a hill, or behind a river (and you do not need to follow the contours of the river line either, see the diagram in the rulebook for an example of this). This is the way to keep your troops facing the enemy.
-
Defending a river edge prevents spono advance, but being up hill doesn't - it just negates the +1 PIP required for a halt due to irregular ineptness as far as I can see.
Another way is to start set up in difficult going or in ambush and have not yet moved in the game, or be in a disheartened command! :o
The list of default situations where spono advance is not required is the second set of bullet points on page 30, but it doesn't include facing the rear/side edge - that one has to be inferred from the direction a spono advance must take further down the page & IMO rules/situatinos that require inference are often confusing and should be avoided wherever possible.....too late for this one tho :-\
-
Other ways to prevent spontaneous advances which can be to your advantage are to have your impetuous elements on top of a hill
That doesn't prevent a sponno advance, but it is one of the exemptions for not incurring an irregular ineptness penalty.
-
Other ways to prevent spontaneous advances which can be to your advantage are to have your impetuous elements on top of a hill
That doesn't prevent a sponno advance, but it is one of the exemptions for not incurring an irregular ineptness penalty.
Its a kind of way of preventing sponno as it only costs impetuous irregular troops 1 pip as opposed to 2 pips to halt them. The river one is a real bonus, as you can park them for as long as you like. However, there is a drawback in that all troops wading then become impetuous, including inert led troops...
-
As far as I see, to have a irr lh (s) facing a wood within 16 cm parks it too, as a spono move would bring it in dificult going and it need not move than.
Correct?
Or does it have to go to the edge of the wood and than continue along the edge (despite enemy ps in it and waiting for the oportunity).
If the lh does have to go, and the ps attack, is the contact inside or outside the wood (as the lh follows the edge, the ps is exactly in, the lh exactly out...).
Tilman
-
As far as I see, to have a irr lh (s) facing a wood within 16 cm parks it too, as a spono move would bring it in dificult going and it need not move than.
Correct?
Provided there were no other elements within reach then yes.
If the lh does have to go, and the ps attack, is the contact inside or outside the wood (as the lh follows the edge, the ps is exactly in, the lh exactly out...)
If the mounted are not in the DGo then there is no combat penalty. At? Well they couldn't get to 'at' with a sponno move, so assuming they got there some other way, then if the mounted element is not in the DGo then IMO there is no combat penalty.
-
If the lh does have to go, and the ps attack, is the contact inside or outside the wood (as the lh follows the edge, the ps is exactly in, the lh exactly out...).
IMO it is "out" - as per Andrew's comment - if it is not "in" then there is no penalty.
but the corollory is, IMO, that the Ps will also be out - and so would be killed by being beaten by Cv, Kn or Cm(S) - so no more "hiding" ps "in" woods or other terrain by just having a little bit of the rear of the element in it - the combat terrain is defined by the position of the edge in combat so some of the (normally) front edge has to be in the terrain for the combat to count as being in that terrain.
-
but the corollory is, IMO, that the Ps will also be out - and so would be killed by being beaten by Cv, Kn or Cm(S) - so no more "hiding" ps "in" woods or other terrain by just having a little bit of the rear of the element in it - the combat terrain is defined by the position of the edge in combat so some of the (normally) front edge has to be in the terrain for the combat to count as being in that terrain.
Are you relying on a clarification for that? The reason I ask is because I don't think the rules re combat outcomes are written that way.....although I'm happy to be corrected if wrong......
A
-
Joining the party late here, but I agree with Andrew. The wording for the Ps combat outcomes are:-
"[less than result]
Destroyed by Kn, Cv or Cm(S) or (O) in good going"
{This to me means if the mounted are in good going they quick-kill the Ps}
and
"[doubled result]
Flee if in close combat against mounted troops whilst in rough or difficult going."
{This to me means if the Ps are in difficult going}.
I realise that there's a very odd situation here, where the Ps are in RGo or DGo and the mounted in GGo, whereby if the Ps are just beaten they die, but if they are properly doubled they flee...!
Tim Child
-
Yes you are right - see page 19 "Terrain Characteristics", "Good going", 3rd para (just above "Hills") -
An element in more than one type of going is treated for movement and clsoe combat as in the type that would slow Cavalry more and for visibility, ambush and shooting as that which would hinder visibility least.