DBMM Forum
General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: william on January 30, 2009, 12:12:40 PM
-
8) With all this talk of marching on and off roads and finally figuring out ( yes I am slow ) that roads are not terrian can one ambush on a road ?
EG could cunning Gauls leave an element on a road in a wood in ambush? Even better could cunning Gauls plash across a road in ambush?
And on the same/similar subject does the number of plashed TF's count towards the number of elements in ambush ( probably not as TF is not an element but worth checking out all the same )?
;D Ambush on roads indeed,
William
-
I would say that roads are terrain, but they do not cancel the terrain that they overlay. Hence you can ambush on a road, and you can plash across it. I also think you could pay for a gate in the plashing if you want your ambushing troops to emerge at road speed (this would also apply to an ambush on a road in a fortified BUA).
Plashing and barricades are not elements of mounted, foot or naval, so are not affected by the limit of 8 elements of these.
-
I believe plashing is the one type of fortification (ignoring hidden obstacles for the moment) that can use in ambush.