DBMM Forum
General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: william on March 16, 2009, 02:42:24 PM
-
:) Strange thoughts, if a group of bowmen starts it's move outside of 400p of skirmishers and said group only moves once does that count as a march move IE can the bowmen shoot ( or loose ) ?
Secondly can a group of bowmen who have moved twice march into contact were allowed ( IE skirmishers-rears and flanks ) as it can not shoot due to marching?
Against the spirit of the rules yes !
:-[ William
-
:) Strange thoughts, if a group of bowmen starts it's move outside of 400p of skirmishers and said group only moves once does that count as a march move IE can the bowmen shoot ( or loose ) ?
As far as I can see it can be either a march move or a tactical move. According to page 28, the only difference I can see between a tactical move and a single march move is that the latter must start more than 400 paces from most enemy. But if you start more than 400 paces from enemy, and move full Bw move, you'll still be out of range.
Secondly can a group of bowmen who have moved twice march into contact were allowed ( IE skirmishers-rears and flanks ) as it can not shoot due to marching?
Looks like it, though you should note that the limit on contacting enemy applies only to contacting mounted. There's nothing stopping Bw contacting foot if they want to.
Against the spirit of the rules yes !
Not necessarily. There were quite a few Bw-classified troops who were happy to mix it up close and personal with enemy.
-
Hi
P34, third paragraph.
Shooting while moving.
last sentence:
"No troops can shoot that marched...."
neil fox
-
Hi
P34, third paragraph.
Shooting while moving.
last sentence:
"No troops can shoot that marched...."
neil fox
True, but not what William was asking.
If I've got it right, he wants to know whether Bw can march into contact with enemy, using the fact that marching prevents shooting to get around the fact that Bw can't normally move into contact with mounted.
-
as far as I can see, bows can march into contact with mounted, as they can't shoot them.
Troops you can march into are pretty much always weak and/or vulnerable, so I don't see this as a problem.
-
as far as I can see, bows can march into contact with mounted, as they can't shoot them.
Troops you can march into are pretty much always weak and/or vulnerable, so I don't see this as a problem.
If the Bows have moved only once and then the skirmishing mounted are in range for both missle fire and contact then the Bows can not contact them, If the bows have moved twice already then they can march into contact. A small bit inconsistant.
I may dwell on it some more.
William
-
If the Bows have moved only once and then the skirmishing mounted are in range for both missle fire and contact then the Bows can not contact them, If the bows have moved twice already then they can march into contact. A small bit inconsistant.
I may dwell on it some more.
William
Not necessarily so. That first march can be a march move. After all, if you do a second move, which must be a march move, then the first must also have been a march move, which prevents you from shooting. The only difference I can find between march moves and tactical moves is that march moves must start more than 400 paces from enemy.
-
Troops you can march into are not always vulnerable - remember they can turn to face if contacted by a march move.
-
Troops you can march into are not always vulnerable - remember they can turn to face if contacted by a march move.
Good point.
Still, the bowmen have the choice of stopping and shooting if the player thinks it too risky.
-
So long as they didn't march.....
-
So long as they didn't march.....
That is the issue ( or one of them ), can one chose which is a march and which is a tactical ( assuming they both start at possible march move distances ).
;) William
-
That is the issue ( or one of them ), can one chose which is a march and which is a tactical ( assuming they both start at possible march move distances ).
I think you can. There's nothing I can see in the rule book which places any limits on where you can do tactical moves. And the only restriction I can see on march moves is that they have to start at least 400 paces...etc etc. Therefore, if you're more than 400 paces from enemy, you can choose to do either a tactical move or a march move.
Of course, if Bw are more than 400 paces from enemy, a tactical move won't put them in shooting range...
-
You can march from closer than 400p in some circumstances (e.g. near skirmishers)
-
You can march from closer than 400p in some circumstances (e.g. near skirmishers)
Thats the gist of the topic.
William ;D
-
I think the nub of the answer is that if you make more than one move you cannot shoot, but if you only make one move and are in range then you can shoot - irrespective of whether or not the move started inside or outside of 400 paces because, insofar as I can tell, there is nothing that states a tactical move must start within 400 paces of the enemy.
-
no there isn't - but what if a player decides that he wants his 1 move to be a march move? there's also nothing to say that a single move has to be a tactical move - and having made 1 march move he then cannot shoot....
so there's a bit of a gap in the rules about what sort of move you have made if you make exactly 1 move - if it starts within 400p it has to be a tactical move (unless only enemy skirmishers, troops facing away within 400, etc) - but if it starts outside 400 it can be eitehr tactical OR march - there's no guidance that it has to be specifically one or other
-
Agreed. I think I tried it on an opponent once (that a single move outside of 400 paces was a march move) only to be reminded in not so gentle terms that isn't what the rules said! I don't see it as being a major issue though - unless I'm missing something???
Edit:
I would presume a single move is a tactical move given there is no disadvantage of it being such. Also the wording at the top of page 28 states an element makes either 1 tactical move, 1 halt or many marches. Perhaps in the absence of 'many' it is 1 move?
Andrew