DBMM Forum

General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: landmeister on August 01, 2010, 08:23:40 AM

Title: One about Pikes
Post by: landmeister on August 01, 2010, 08:23:40 AM
Just a curious thing. Piken can't benefit support from 2nd and 3rd ranks when fighting train, but can benefit the one from the 4th rank in own bound!!! :o ??? Could someone please tell me what's the logic (if any  ;D) behind it?

Thank you in advance.
Title: Re: One about Pikes
Post by: LAP1964 on August 01, 2010, 09:31:41 PM
To keep pikes deployed in historical depths. :)
LES
Title: Re: One about Pikes
Post by: landmeister on August 02, 2010, 08:51:42 AM
I can understand that, but I find a bit weird that the last in line can help better that the one just behind the front rank.  ;)

Thank you.
Title: Re: One about Pikes
Post by: Barritus on August 02, 2010, 04:02:51 PM
Think of it in terms of outcome rather than process.

What's important in the rules is what encourages you to do historical things. If the process of doing so sometimes looks odd, that's the price we have to pay.

In this case, the rule gives you an incentive to keep pike in historically deep formations. Clumsy? Yes. But it achieves the right outcome.
Title: Re: One about Pikes
Post by: landmeister on August 02, 2010, 10:26:31 PM
A very good answer. Thank you very much.  ;)
Title: Re: One about Pikes
Post by: Orcoteuthis on August 04, 2010, 12:15:57 PM
On which historical instances of pikemen attacking train are we basing the outcome on? Can't seem to think of any offhand.
Title: Re: One about Pikes
Post by: Barritus on August 04, 2010, 04:38:45 PM
On which historical instances of pikemen attacking train are we basing the outcome on? Can't seem to think of any offhand.
Haven't a clue! I'm just emphasising the underlying principles. But don't take that to mean I either understand or endorse them. ;-)