DBMM Forum
General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: landmeister on August 18, 2010, 12:52:04 PM
-
I see no aparent changes in the fleeing rules. If I read them correctly, friendly elements fleeing and ending closer to enemy within 800p and not beyond a river are still lost. Could you confirm this, please?
Thank you in advance.
-
Hi
Do not agree and cannot see where you might have found this.
Pls quote the relevant paragraph.
neil
-
I see no aparent changes in the fleeing rules. If I read them correctly, friendly elements fleeing and ending closer to enemy within 800p and not beyond a river are still lost. Could you confirm this, please?
Page 41 Fleeing Elements,1st para after bullet points
I think all this means is,that this is the only time Fleeing Elements can end their move near to the enemy. :)
LES
-
But I read they can't :-\ It is said that they must change direction in order to avoid ending closer to any enemy. My question is, what happens if you can't? ???
-
landmeister,read Page 41 Fleeing Elements,2nd para after bullet points.It tells you what to do.
LES
-
Hi Les,
Is this the paragraph?
"After any initial recoil and turn, a fleeing element must if possible pivot as soon as it can by the minimum necessary up to 90? to pass through or around friends it contacts, or to avoid ending closer to any enemy element (unless this would then be more than 800p away or beyond a river), or to avoid impassable terrain."
I read that it must pivot if possible but there is no explanation about what happens if it is not possible. At least not an explicit explanation. This is why I understand that it is implicit. If it is not possible, it is lost. Could you please point out anything I'm missing? :-\
Thank you in advance.
-
It is the next paragraph which tells you what to do,the one that starts."It cannot change direction if other enemy,".So i would say next turn you do CC,if you win the element bursts through the enemy,if you lose the element is destroyed.
LES
-
Hi Les,
I think I got it, but I would like your opinion, again ;D. If I understand it correctly, my element can change direction to avoid ending closer to any enemy, but if this is not possible (because it will end closer no matter where it goes), then doesn't change at all and move straight backwards. If it contact an enemy fights as per rules. If friends, burst as per rules. If it doensn't contact anything, it simply flees backwards. Is this correct?
If so, the only way to deviate because of the presence of an enemy element is when there is one only enemy element within 400p at the beginning of the move. Having two enemy elements (one on the left and the other on the right) will cancel the deviation, so you must flee straught backwards. Right?
Thank you