DBMM Forum
General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: Spartiate on July 07, 2011, 12:41:59 PM
-
If an impetuous element is facing its own rear table edge, and a straight ahead move wouldn't bring it closer to the closest enemy, it must follow one of the bullet points in the 3rd paragraph of p30. However, what does it do if none of those bullets apply? ie, it can't contact an enemy, there's no routing or baggage element within 400, and it's not moving along a road, terrain edge or table edge?
-
They simply don't move ;). This is the best way to control them. I turn my sponno generals 180? in the first bound to avoid their impetuosity ;D.
-
I turn my sponno generals 180? in the first bound to avoid their impetuosity ;D.
That OK,but what do you do when you roll a 1 first turn? ::)
LES
-
I'm told the Zulu had their reserves looking the wrong way precisely to prevent them from spontaneously engaging too soon, so there might even be some historical justification for that tactic.
-
I turn my sponno generals 180? in the first bound to avoid their impetuosity ;D.
That OK,but what do you do when you roll a 1 first turn? ::)
LES
LOL!! ;D The only thing you can do then is praying NOT to roll a 1. ;D
-
;) They only need a one to turn around, but I think that should effect the rest of the command, general facing wrong way and all.
-
An impetous general is an asset not a liability. If you think the contrary, change army.
-
;) They only need a one to turn around,
And the rest of the Sponno troops in that command will do what?
LES
-
;) They only need a one to turn around,
And the rest of the Sponno troops in that command will do what?
LES
No one said the general had to have other impet. troops with him ;)
-
An impetous general is an asset not a liability. If you think the contrary, change army.
Can be a liability, can be an asset depends upon the situation and opponant. In my Williegoths I can see a good reason to some times not having to spend pips holding the general and warband else where :D
-
You can deploy general dismounted if you want to keep them under control.
-
You can deploy general dismounted if you want to keep them under control.
That depends on what the General dismounts as? As some in armies when they are mounted they aren't sponno,but dismount them they are. ;D
LES
-
I've always found it puzzling that, if they lack bows, Irr Cv (O), who are not impetuous, dismount as Irr Wb (S), who are, while Irr Kn (F), who are, dismount as Irr Bd (O), who are not.
-
If you were to turn the general who is with a group of impetuous troops around at the beginning of a bound. would that not prevent the whole group from going sponno as-
A) Part of the group has moved that bound
B)As far as I'm aware there is no stipulation that a group has to have all of its elements facing the same direction, they only have to be in edge contact!
So, if A and B are correct, the cheesy way of preventing any of its elements going sponno is to turn the General element around 180 and hey presto, group cannot go sponno!!!
-
If you were to turn the general who is with a group of impetuous troops around at the beginning of a bound. would that not prevent the whole group from going sponno as-
A) Part of the group has moved that bound
B)As far as I'm aware there is no stipulation that a group has to have all of its elements facing the same direction, they only have to be in edge contact!
So, if A and B are correct, the cheesy way of preventing any of its elements going sponno is to turn the General element around 180 and hey presto, group cannot go sponno!!!
Shame that the group definition at page 28 and spontaneous advance section at page 30 say a different thing.
If you would read the rulebook you would have not such doubts.
-
If you were to turn the general who is with a group of impetuous troops around at the beginning of a bound. would that not prevent the whole group from going sponno as-
A) Part of the group has moved that bound
B)As far as I'm aware there is no stipulation that a group has to have all of its elements facing the same direction, they only have to be in edge contact!
So, if A and B are correct, the cheesy way of preventing any of its elements going sponno is to turn the General element around 180 and hey presto, group cannot go sponno!!!
Shame that the group definition at page 28 and spontaneous advance section at page 30 say a different thing.
If you would read the rulebook you would have not such doubts.
That's the problem with being at work, no access to the rules and working from memory!!!
-
I got my copy in the suitcase :)