DBMM Forum
General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: landmeister on January 03, 2012, 08:01:11 PM
-
On page 6 is read that Pk(X) are treated as (S) when fighting Bows. Does it include distant combat? I see no distinction, initially. But I don't speak Barkerese. ::)
-
If "fighting" means distant and close then I would say it includes both.
On reading the other X troop types they do refer to close combat, so I would be fair to say that the" fighting" as mentioned for PkX means both distant and close.
hope that makes sense
regards mic
-
This is how I see it too. Thank you.
-
When the rules state 'fighting' it surely means close combat only as distance shooting is not fighting, it is, as it says, shooting. I would suggest that Pk(X) only count as (S) in close combat against bows, not (S) when being shot at by bows (they dont count as (S) against Psiloi armed with bows do they?).
-
See the decription of bows
"BOWS, representing foot who fight in formed bodies by shooting collectively with missiles "
Distant combat is fighting.
See the description of Light Horse (+ others)
LIGHT HORSE, including all especially swift riders who scout or usually fight in a loose swarm with missiles rather than in formation.
Using a missile in close combat is fighting.
So Pk(X) should not forget the protection of their pavises in fights involving missile troops in close and distant combat!
-
When the rules state 'fighting' it surely means close combat only as distance shooting is not fighting, it is, as it says, shooting. I would suggest that Pk(X) only count as (S) in close combat against bows, not (S) when being shot at by bows (they dont count as (S) against Psiloi armed with bows do they?).
Actually they do - they count as (S) against light troops.
Fight certainly can include distant combat. Compare the Bw(X) description.
I think the rationale is that Cv, Bw and light troops are, as much as they can, bunging things at the Pk whether it is close or distant combat, so the pavises help regardless of range.
-
The general consensus on the DBMM Yahoo group is that Pk(X) count as (S) against bows in both distance and close combat. Could be useful against Bw(S)! ;)
-
What if Pike-X fighting against Bow-X in close combat?
Bow-X will be count as Spear,
so should Pike-X count as Pike-S or Pike-I ???
-
What if Pike-X fighting against Bow-X in close combat?
Bow-X will be count as Spear,
so should Pike-X count as Pike-S or Pike-I ???
They count as Pk (I) in close combat against Bw (X).
(Still count as (S) if shot at by Bw (X) of course.)