DBMM Forum

General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: additz on January 30, 2013, 07:52:11 AM

Title: (F)-Troops routing
Post by: additz on January 30, 2013, 07:52:11 AM
Hi,

Page 29: TACTICAL AND MARCH MOVE DISTANCES:

However:
Troops graded as (F) add an extra 40p to their march, tactical, spontaneous, repulse, flee or press forward move off-road ...

That means: a rout move doesn't add the 40p

Page 41: ROUTED ELEMENTS: last passage
A rout move is the same as a flee move ...
That means: a rout move does add the 40p

???

What is correct - which passage should be rephrased ?
Thank you
Axel
Title: Re: (F)-Troops routing
Post by: Valentinian Victor on January 30, 2013, 08:52:37 AM
It probably could do with a little rewording although of course a rout move is not the same as a flee move as the rout move is double distance.
Title: Re: (F)-Troops routing
Post by: additz on January 30, 2013, 09:25:41 AM
Yes - but double distance of what:

200 or 240p (in case of a Kn(F)) ?

Axel
Title: Re: (F)-Troops routing
Post by: Valentinian Victor on January 30, 2013, 11:05:35 AM
That is indeed an interesting question which I will pose elsewhere and then put the answer here.
Title: Re: (F)-Troops routing
Post by: additz on January 30, 2013, 11:07:02 AM
Thank you  :)
Title: Re: (F)-Troops routing
Post by: toby on January 30, 2013, 01:30:12 PM
The section on the extra 40 paces for F troops doesn't say it excludes Rout moves, it just doesn't list them there.

So a Flee move for Kn(F) is 240p. A rout move distance isn't specified.

Later on it says that a Rout move is twice a flee move, so it's 480 paces.

I don't see a contradiction, unless you are trying to find one hard and are willing to read the first list as being exclusive.

It would be an idea in the next version to add it in to the list for completeness though, I agree.

The contrary example is a pursuit move. That also isn't in the list, and is defined elsewhere as being between at least a base depth and no more than a base width. Because it isn't mentioned in the list, and isn't based on a move that is in the list, it doesn't get 40 paces added on.

Toby
Title: Re: (F)-Troops routing
Post by: additz on January 30, 2013, 01:47:03 PM
@Toby: I'm working on the German translation and I want to do it right - that is why I'm asking.

Quote
I don't see a contradiction, unless you are trying to find one hard and are willing to read the first list as being exclusive.
I read it as it is: rout moves do not add 40p, nevertheless what is written 12 pages later ... If one does not list something in a list which includes everything else, it is understood as an exklusion (at least) in German.

Quote
It would be an idea in the next version to add it in to the list for completeness though, I agree.
Good idea!

Thanks for the clarification - I will consider it for the translation.

Axel
Title: Re: (F)-Troops routing
Post by: Orcoteuthis on January 31, 2013, 12:37:53 PM
If you add rout moves to the list on p29, someone will conclude Kn (F) rout 520p (twice a flee move +40p).