DBMM Forum
General Category => Rules Questions => Topic started by: lorricount on March 11, 2014, 12:15:15 PM
-
If a defender put a raised Tower (fortified built up area of 1 element wide and deep) with Art(S) in the invader's deployment area, what is the best course of action for the invader?
Note 1: the invader cannot deploy any troops within 240p of the BUAf
Note 2: it is difficult to assault the Tower as it can only be assaulted once (but not 4 times) even if you surround it on 4 sides; no overlap bonus apply.
i.e. it fights as 2 (for artillery) +3 (front edge combat across a PF) +2 (If in any close combat or being shot at. while not only manning a PF but in a raised tower) = +7, even if you fight it with blade or spear supported a Psiloi = +5
You can't simply ignore it because Art (S) can shoot up to 560 paces and can shoot all round.
-
You can't simply ignore it because Art (S) can shoot up to 560 paces and can shoot all round.
[it] p34 para 5: "The shooting edge ... can be ... any edge if manning a PF tower". The beaten zone is cruciform rather than circular. It would be possible to approach the tower from an oblique angle, eg on a diagonal through the the tower's corners, and not be shot at until within charge reach.
Cheers,
Ivan.
-
A great opportunity to use your WWg(S) siege tower, your "Betrayal" stratagem, or your own battery of Art(S).
I have a feeling that Ps(X) flamethrower men ignore fortifications, but I might be getting mixed up with Squad Leader.
-
Thanks for your reply.
I shall advice the Hong Kong DBMM players to use Betrayal Strategem to tackle this ploy.
From Lawrence Ho
Member Co-ordinator
Hong Kong Society of Wargamers.
-
And remember, if the Art(S) pivots [to be able to shoot at a target] it counts as having moved & therefore cannot shoot in any of it's sides next 3 bounds.
-
And remember, if the Art(S) pivots [to be able to shoot at a target] it counts as having moved & therefore cannot shoot in any of it's sides next 3 bounds.
I think you'll find the artillery doesn't need to pivot if it's in a PF tower. "Shooting Edge" on page 34 says:The base edge shot from is the "shooting edge". This can be...any edge if manning a PF tower...
-
I have a feeling that Ps(X) flamethrower men ignore fortifications, but I might be getting mixed up with Squad Leader.
Ps (X) (regardless of armament) ignore TF, but not PF.