Recent Posts

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 10
41
Rules Questions / Re: Naval and disembarking
« Last post by Neil Williamson on January 16, 2022, 03:13:32 AM »
I've still mulling this one over. I've posted it to the New Zealand Facebook group and copied it here.

Naval Gazing

A few curly rules questions.
Page 10 "... each naval element always carries and can disembark one land element..."
This seems to suggest that the two elements are separate. However, you can argue that because the naval element cannot move if there is no land unit aboard, then they are treated as a combined unit.

Questions
1. Does a general on a naval element add a +1 combat factor if the naval element is in combat or being shot at?
2. Does a general on a naval element that is in frontal combat suffer command difficulty?
3. If regular naval elements carry irregular troops do they still benefit from -1 PIP for one move or halt?
4. Can a naval element make a tactical move to shore, and then the land element make a tactical move in the same bound to disembark?
5. Can a land element embark and then, in the same bound, the naval element make a tactical move ?

If they are separate elements then I think the answers are
No, no, yes , yes, yes.

If they are a combined unit then I think the answers are the opposite
Yes, yes, no, no, no.

Or I suppose we could pick individual situations that suit us at the time lol.

Any thoughts if wisdom?
42
Rules Questions / Re: Naval and disembarking
« Last post by Neil Williamson on January 16, 2022, 02:37:23 AM »
And then...
If they are separate elements, does the general on board the ship give bonuses to the ship?
Does it add +1 combat factor to being shot at and close combat?
If the general's ship is in close combat, is there a command difficulty for PIPs.
43
Rules Questions / Re: Naval and disembarking
« Last post by Neil Williamson on January 15, 2022, 05:57:42 PM »
Thanks Anthony
The answer seems to solely depend upon the interpretation of "An element can be part of 1 tactical move..." on page 28.

The elements are separate (as per page 10) and the land troops are merely carried along and not part of the naval move
OR
They are integral, as you have logically argued, and the land element is part of the naval move.

I'm still firmly on the fence with this one, and frequently change my mind on the interpretation.
44
Rules Questions / Re: Weather changes
« Last post by Marcel Bos on January 14, 2022, 09:23:45 PM »
So, even Phil Barker can't predict the weather  ;D
Thanx Barritus!
45
Rules Questions / Re: Naval and disembarking
« Last post by Fon Tok Nak on January 11, 2022, 11:24:37 AM »
If a land element is on a naval element and the naval element moves, the land element is part of that move (it does not get left behind).

Without its land element embarked, a naval element cannot move, so although the rules do not say, the men from the land element are clearly needed/responsible for moving the naval element.

Consequently, the only way to move a naval element and then its land element in the same bound is by marching, i.e. the point of disembarkation must be further than 400 paces from all known enemy.

Anthony
46
Rules Questions / Naval and disembarking
« Last post by Neil Williamson on January 11, 2022, 04:34:50 AM »
Can a naval element make a tactical move, either group or individual, and then, in the same bound, the element it is carrying, disrmbark making its own tactical move?

My reading is yes but I would like to check especially as I will be using a navy for the first time soon.

Pg 28 states an element can be part of 1 tactical move.
However, I think in page 10 they are treated as separate elements. Each naval element can carry one land element.

So my reading is the naval elements can make their tactical move and then the land elements can make their tactical moves, within the same bound PIPs permitting.
47
Competitions / Cancon 2022 - Saturday 22 January - Sunday 23 January
« Last post by Barritus on January 06, 2022, 01:26:37 PM »
This Cancon’s DBMM v2.1 15mm competition is for armies of 400AP (including stratagems).

There will be four rounds of 3 hours 30 minutes (+/- 10 minutes) on Saturday and Sunday.

Armies permitted are all those within the years 3000BC to 1525AD, one list only.

Please send your list to the tournament organiser by Saturday 15 January for checking.

Late lists will be made available for viewing.

If you have any questions please ask me (peter DOT barritus AT yahoo DOT com DOT au)!

Online entries at https://cgs.asn.au/cancon/cancon-tournaments/
48
Rules Questions / Re: Weather changes
« Last post by Barritus on January 03, 2022, 01:39:30 AM »
I never quite understand weather changes.

LOL.

Don't worry, those of us who've been playing for years still have problems.

Quote
Every army starts the game with 4 PIP-dice including dummy dice.

Correct.

Quote
During the game the dummy dice will be removed.

Correct.

Quote
The odds that a weather change will take place with 4 dice are much smaller that that it will take place with 3 or even 2 dice.
So during the game the odds that a weather change will take place grow.

Correct.

Quote
Is that the intention of the rules?

Good question.

It might be better to consider it a consequence of the rules rather than an intention of the rules.

I'd call it an unintended consequence, but others might not want to see things in such a negative way.

I'm quite sure this issue was pointed out in the earliest discussions of the rules back in the late-noughties, but I don't remember what Barker's view was at the time, or what conclusions were reached.

But yes, as the PIP dice disappear in the course of a game, the likelihood of weather changes increases.
49
Rules Questions / Weather changes
« Last post by Marcel Bos on January 01, 2022, 03:41:33 PM »
I never quite understand weather changes.

Every army starts the game with 4 PIP-dice including dummy dice.
During the game the dummy dice will be removed.

The odds that a weather change will take place with 4 dice are much smaller that that it will take place with 3 or even 2 dice.
So during the game the odds that a weather change will take place grow.
Is that the intention of the rules?
50
Rules Questions / Re: Combat in Rivers
« Last post by Fon Tok Nak on December 20, 2021, 02:44:10 PM »
The meaning of 'overlapped' is explained in detail on p.35. The -1 bullet on p.37 is for when the conditions on p.35 are met. To apply that -1 without consideration of p.35 would mean allowing overlapping Art (for example) to inflict that -1. 

The rule you cite is there to clarify what happens if you are in combat on your front edge and another edge (i.e. you fight only what is in front, with a negative modifier).


Other way around. The rule (on p.35) clarifies what happens to your enemy when you are on his flank or rear - he suffers a -1 only if you are also on his front as in "an enemy element which is fighting to its front". An enemy element which is not fighting to its front does not suffer the -1 for you being on a flank.

I agree that this situation rarely comes up, but it is worth noting for combat with Expendables (in particular) and War Wagons (S) and (X).

Anthony
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 10