Author Topic: The unbeatable formation  (Read 11397 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

andrew

  • Guest
Re: The unbeatable formation
« Reply #30 on: January 24, 2009, 08:18:40 PM »
Hi William

I don't believe you can contact the front of an element in a column (excluding the lead element) because the rules treat element B as being lined up behind element A.  Let's say however that you (legally) contact the flank of B, then I would say element C (being the next element in the column behind B) would have to fall in behind B, unless the length of the side edge of element B was longer than, or equal to, the length of your front edge (e.g. Chariot, Elephant, Train).  Although I probably wouldn't do this without first protecting the flank of my element.......

Andrew

LawrenceG

  • Guest
Re: The unbeatable formation
« Reply #31 on: January 26, 2009, 07:19:07 PM »
;D As a matter of interest from the initial question, could element 1 contact the front corner and part of the front edge of B ( would be front edge to front edge within a zone of control ) forcing B to line up with 1 immediatatly ? If this were to happen would B still be in a column ? Would B have to conform ( because it is in a group contacted on an outside corner, Therefore chose to fight in place but count as overlapped ?

William

As we currently have two ways of interpreting elements in a column being treated as "lined up behind" each other, there is no definitive answer to this.

If you favour Mike's interpretation, then you can't do this, but you can contact the notional position of B's flank.

If you favour my interpretation then you can do this, but you can't contact the actual flank as it is in C's TZ.