Author Topic: Double based elements charging downhill  (Read 2168 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

foxgom

  • Guest
Double based elements charging downhill
« on: February 08, 2009, 06:01:51 PM »
Hi

Japanese Cavalry based together with Ax charge downhill.

The rear base of the Ax is still on the hill.
The Cav is entirely on flat ground.

Does the element get the +1 for charging downhill?
The rear of the (double) element is on the hill.
The rear of the front element is not.

Is there a crystall clear ruling on this?
I have not found one but would say there is no bonus.


neil

LawrenceG

  • Guest
Re: Double based elements charging downhill
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2009, 07:26:19 PM »
tactical factors are not one of the exceptions listed on page 13,
so the DBE is counted as 2 elements,
so to get the tactical factor the rear of the cavalry part has to be up the hill.

So you are right, no bonus.

So the rules are crystal clear on this. Well, clear enough for you to come to the correct answer, anyway.

landmeister

  • Guest
Re: Double based elements charging downhill
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2009, 10:14:02 AM »
This question remembers me a weird situation seen a few games a go. My Cv element had its front edge on one side of the crest and the rear on the opposite side of the crest but still in a "higher level" that the opponent element. Is the tactical factor applicable?

We considered it was not applicable, as the whole element should be completely on the same slope.

Opinions? 

MikeCampbell

  • Guest
Re: Double based elements charging downhill
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2009, 09:19:27 PM »
The tactical factor is actually for being "upslope" - which to me says it's the same slope - so no, it doesn't count if over a crest or indeed if on the other side of hte bottom of a valley.

landmeister

  • Guest
Re: Double based elements charging downhill
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2009, 01:45:39 PM »
This is how I read it too. Thank you.

william

  • Guest
Re: Double based elements charging downhill
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2009, 02:13:33 PM »
The tactical factor is actually for being "upslope" - which to me says it's the same slope - so no, it doesn't count if over a crest or indeed if on the other side of hte bottom of a valley.
 

 :D I know what it reads but I thought ( and this I should not do thinking ) that this bonus for mounted represented charging ( and extra weight of charge ) down hill

 :-\ You may not have the same charging effect ( or momentum ) if you first have to move upslope before you move down.

 ;) Of course if it does represent a charge bonus it should not apply to certain mounted ( you know the ones that stall their charge to stand off and shoot prior to closing in like those pesky Nikie Cv(S) ).

William ( still want rear support for spear and pike ) Coughlan