Author Topic: A question about contacting deep DBE (eg. Kn)  (Read 1556 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Orcoteuthis

  • Guest
A question about contacting deep DBE (eg. Kn)
« on: August 27, 2009, 09:42:11 PM »
Consider a DBE deeper than a base width (the concrete examples prompting the question had German Kn (O/I) wedges) that is in frontal combat (with A) and hard-flanked by another enemy element (B). A third enemy element (C) is beside the flanker but out of contact, facing part of the DBE's rear element's flank. See diagram (not quite to scale):


C can't contact the DBE's flank because the element already in contact prevents legal contact and can't be moved to make room. Neither can C contact the DBE's rear because it's not entirely behind the imaginary infinite extension of the rear edge. This would then seem to be a circumstance where contact that would presumably happen in real life is impossible under the rules. Are we missing something?

MikeCampbell

  • Guest
Re: A question about contacting deep DBE (eg. Kn)
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2009, 11:09:10 PM »
Line them up for next turn in case he survives - it is no different from a group hitting the flank where an element grouped next to B would contact the flank of the DBE but have no additional effect.

this also happens with elements that are deeper than an element width such as Elephants.  It is not actually a problem IMO - jsut a minor curiosity.

Orcoteuthis

  • Guest
Re: A question about contacting deep DBE (eg. Kn)
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2009, 09:47:50 AM »
Thanks. :) I don't think it's a major problem but it looks a bit odd and decidedly "geometrical".

LawrenceG

  • Guest
Re: A question about contacting deep DBE (eg. Kn)
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2009, 10:14:51 AM »
As it is clear that your own troops can block you from making contact, this is no more an issue than any other situation where you are blocked by your own troops. The situation would be the same if it were two single based knights instead of a DBE.

Actually there is a slight issue: the presence of the enemy prevents you from moving C to form a group with B. If B and C had already been a group, you could have moved them together into the contact position you want. This might be a bit fiddly to legislate a fix for.