Author Topic: tactical factor for defending a river bank  (Read 5836 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

william

  • Guest
Re: tactical factor for defending a river bank
« Reply #15 on: August 29, 2009, 02:06:56 AM »
Just a quickie, where does it say you have to be the main combat element to get these bonuses?



 :-[ Ok I am only being picky.

William

Don't have my rules here so I'll let Mike answer that one.


 ;) Thats right feed me to the big bad wolf.

William

andrew

  • Guest
Re: tactical factor for defending a river bank
« Reply #16 on: August 30, 2009, 02:46:08 AM »
Hi William

The answer to this lies in 2 places.

Firstly, page 35 states overlaps and flank contacts only give a single -1 tactical factor for each flank overlap/combat, and it also stipulates that, for the combat in question, they can only inflict an adverse tactical factor.

Secondly, the preamble at the top of 36 states tactical factors, rear support factors etc. are added to a combat factor.  An overlapping element does not have a combat factor for the combat in question.

I trust this helps...?
Andrew

william

  • Guest
Re: tactical factor for defending a river bank
« Reply #17 on: August 30, 2009, 01:25:20 PM »
Hi William

The answer to this lies in 2 places.

Firstly, page 35 states overlaps and flank contacts only give a single -1 tactical factor for each flank overlap/combat, and it also stipulates that, for the combat in question, they can only inflict an adverse tactical factor.

Secondly, the preamble at the top of 36 states tactical factors, rear support factors etc. are added to a combat factor.  An overlapping element does not have a combat factor for the combat in question.

I trust this helps...?
Andrew

Of course it does help, I would not yet consider playing it any other way, my thinking may harp back to DBM 3.1 where IIRC a flanking foot element in rough could in fact inflicy an extra -1 on mounted opponent.


OK nitty gritty time, I suppose any misreading that might happen is that most of the Tactical factors for Melee are listed as Close combat with the exceptions of ( I think) this +1 for mounted in front edge combat and -1 for flanks/overlapped or rear in Front edge combat, tbf there may be no difference between this 2 combats ( from Pg35) it is of course a little confusing to have them termed in seperate ways with tactical factors.

I do think your wrong about 'only' inflicting an adverse tactical factors, as it appears it does not say 'ONLY' , though I would agree that Pg36 may indeed sort the thing out.

Now I am not really trying to be difficult but would it not be easier to understand (especially when first starting out with DBMM) that all the melee tactical factors were phrased as Close Combat

 ;) William as difficult as ever.

MikeCampbell

  • Guest
Re: tactical factor for defending a river bank
« Reply #18 on: September 01, 2009, 05:04:08 AM »
Close cmbat only occurs between elemeents that have moved into contact in accordance with page 35 - ie 2 elemenet contacting along their front edge fight (or contacting along an edge counting as a front edge)

Combat factors only affect the 2 elemenets actually fighting - see top of page 36 - "each player dices for his element, and adds its combat factor, together with any rear support, tactical and grading factors that apply."

andrew

  • Guest
Re: tactical factor for defending a river bank
« Reply #19 on: September 01, 2009, 08:46:02 AM »
William

Regarding the 'only' comment.  This is the text in question from page 35 : "An element overlapping or in front edge contact with the flank or rear edge of an enemy element which is fighting to its front inflicts an adverse tactical factor."  It also then goes on to say : "An element counts only one -1 tactical factor on each flank for that flank being overlapped or contacted by an enemy front edge."

I used the word 'only' in the context of fighting as an overlap.  So insofar as the combat in question goes, the only tactical factor the overlapping element contributes to the combat is a -1 tactical factor, which I gather is not in dispute.  Per the last sentence I quoted above from page 35, it cannot contribute any additional negative tactical factors to that combat, hence my use of the word 'only'.

I agree 100% it can contribute other tactical factors to other combats, but that isn't what I stated in my earlier post when I used the word 'only'.

Unconfusedly yours....
Andrew

« Last Edit: September 01, 2009, 08:48:35 AM by andrew »

arnimlueck

  • Guest
Re: tactical factor for defending a river bank
« Reply #20 on: September 02, 2009, 12:53:58 PM »
jumping back to the original issue

I just had a look to the current DBMM 1.1 draft. There (Laurence stated-thanks!) the situation is clarified explicidly for gullies. Which optically gives a much more pleasing effect than moving all element with their tip-toes into the gully.