Author Topic: And not lining up  (Read 10327 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

andrew

  • Guest
Re: And not lining up
« Reply #30 on: April 29, 2009, 12:12:04 AM »
Thank you Mike - you have supported my previous assertions about taking things out of context so I rest my case.......

landmeister

  • Guest
Re: And not lining up
« Reply #31 on: May 04, 2009, 06:29:40 PM »
Sorry, but I would like to add a new argument here. My opponent said that, according to page 33 EMTLU, a contacting element lines up to an enemy one, no matter ther bound. I simply couldn't find an argument against this. The rules seem pretty clear, IMHO. If you are contacting, you can line up, no matter the move to close combat was made the previous bound.

Any opinions?  ???

andrew

  • Guest
Re: And not lining up
« Reply #32 on: May 04, 2009, 09:02:31 PM »
From memory the rules says "a contacting, contacted or TZed element".

arvnranger

  • Guest
Re: And not lining up
« Reply #33 on: May 05, 2009, 12:38:03 AM »
From memory the rules says "a contacting, contacted or TZed element".
[it] ... from which the question, since asked, is whether "contact" as it pertains to EMTLU is instantaneous or continuous (cf brilliant stroke +2 vis-a-vis all generals' +1 in tactical factors). The inference that some have drawn is that it is the former, ie you can use EMTLU at the instant of contact with the enemy of crossing the boundary of an enemy TZ but not subsequently with respect to the same contact or TZ. I can't say for certain - is there a grammarian in the house? I can see all sorts of "interesting" rationalisations emerging for one determination or the other   ;)

In the example quoted there is a relevant section on P33, para 2 that states that an element initiates close combat by adjusting an existing flank contact. I guess the question is, then, does such a move, partial flank contact to (i) mutual front corner contact or (ii) front edge contact with the enemy elements full flank edge cost 0, 1 or, if irregular, 2 PIPs?