Author Topic: Pass trough, fleeing elements  (Read 2267 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Marcel Bos

  • Guest
Pass trough, fleeing elements
« on: February 20, 2008, 10:44:15 AM »
On p.41 it says "a fleeing element must change direction as soon as possible ... to pass through friends it contacts or to avoid: - Friends it cannot pass through or by"

On which circumstances a fleeing element passes trough or burst trough friends.

Do I understand it correctly that:
-the only possibilities the fleeing element may pass trough without problem are discribed on p.32 par.3 "while passing trough and not in spontaneous advance"?
- That other friendly elements that can't be avoided are burst through and flee, p.41 par.5
- That elements passed trough by fleeing (routing) expendables or elephants always flee, p.32, par.4
- That elements of a broken command passed trough by fleeing el. (routers) join behind p.32, par.4

landmeister

  • Guest
Re: Pass trough, fleeing elements
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2008, 06:24:37 PM »
I asked something similar and I was given this superb answer

http://dbmm.org.uk/forums/index.php?topic=222.0

I hope it helps you too.  ;)

Marcel Bos

  • Guest
Re: Pass trough, fleeing elements
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2008, 09:33:20 AM »
Thanks!  :) You have certainly helped me to understand a fleeing move.
But....  in wich circumstances can a fleeing element pass trough a friendly element.
Fleeing is spontaneous but not an 'advance', so:

P.32 par. 3 speaks for elements 'passing through and not in spontaneous advance'
-----> so all those circumstances should be true for fleeing elements

p.32 par. 4 speaks for elements 'in spontaneous advance'
------> so shouldn't be trough for fleeing elements
but the same paragraph states also what happens if 'spontaneous advancing or routing elements passes trough'

Now I am confused, does a fleeing element belonges to paragraph 3 or 4, or both? ???

If my English isn't perfect, I am just a Dutch guy.




Geoff Pearson

  • Administrator
  • Ax(O)
  • *****
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
    • Manchester Area Wargames Society
Re: Pass trough, fleeing elements
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2008, 10:34:12 AM »
Thanks!  :) You have certainly helped me to understand a fleeing move.
But....  in wich circumstances can a fleeing element pass trough a friendly element.
Fleeing is spontaneous but not an 'advance', so:

P.32 par. 3 speaks for elements 'passing through and not in spontaneous advance'
-----> so all those circumstances should be true for fleeing elements

p.32 par. 4 speaks for elements 'in spontaneous advance'
------> so shouldn't be trough for fleeing elements
but the same paragraph states also what happens if 'spontaneous advancing or routing elements passes trough'

Now I am confused, does a fleeing element belonges to paragraph 3 or 4, or both? ???

If my English isn't perfect, I am just a Dutch guy.

Hi Marcel

Fleeing is not counted as being spontaneous in the rules, spontaneous advance is a type of move.
So where it says 'in spontaneous advance' it is not meaning fleeing elements.
Hope this helps
Best Regards
Geoff

Marcel Bos

  • Guest
Re: Pass trough, fleeing elements
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2008, 11:46:44 AM »
So my assumptions in my first (starting) question should be correct!

I just wasn't sure, because p.28 par.3 states that: Spontaneous Moves are involuntary spontaneous Advance and Rout Moves in their own side's bound.

Thanks, both for helping me out!