You'd better have your ruling ready for the weekend Will...... can Expendables expand from a column or not ?
Personally it would seem to make sense that Expendables deployed in line and just went forward. Can't see thunderbomb oxen or stampeding camels indulging in formation changes.... however what about those Regular scythed chariots ?

Ok ok, Expendables were usually used in line in combat historically? Expendables also are now Irregular and regular! There are special rules for troops moving with expendables ( only in column ) !
If troops can only move with expendables in column does this mean the rules encourage expendables to move in columns?
All this is just thinking out loud.
Personally I feel Regular EXP(O) should be able to expand from column ( indeed be able to wheel more than 90 degrees but thats not up for discussion ), with Irr Exp(O) prohibited from doing so but there is no scope for this within the rules.
I will say for the Munster open this weekend I will be allowing expendables on tables other than my own games ( because I can also field expendables ) to deploy from column to line as a group move.
My reasoning, if the same elements can contract or turn 90 degrees into column, why can they not expand? If some other player ( Richard for example ) wants to umpire my games differently ( if I have expendables { cat out of the bag now } ) then so be it.
It does seem to be an area that needs clarification though and may I be the first to say I am extremely biased in my thinking

If anyone disagrees we can have a quiet debate on the issue over a pint or two.
One other thought did occour to me if expanding from column is to be as if by single elements would that mean that one might have to pay an extra pip for each non light non or Cv(O) irregular element doing the same ? but that is a very weak arguement.

Of course the other option would be that any player over the weekend not to deploy expendables in columns ( avoiding the other floating zone of death routine )
William ' Ive got expendables ' Coughlan