Author Topic: To arrive or not that is the question.  (Read 6673 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

william

  • Guest
Re: To arrive or not that is the question.
« Reply #15 on: February 16, 2009, 09:46:58 AM »
 ;D Absolutly brilliant, I got Lawrence, Richard and Mike all agreeing with each other.

And now I am going to disagree, in relation to stragglers. Elements only become stragglers ( are straggling ) if they fail to show up on the bound of 'ARRIVAL, so they can not become stagglers until that bound is over. If they are not stragglers for the bound of ARRIVAL then they can be kept of the battle field if pips can be used to bring them on.

I do feel this is against the spirit of the rules however and could do with tightening up in some way.

It does seem I may have answered my own question of arrival.

And

Note that non-arrived baggage does not count as lost, it is merely added to army losses when calculating defeat. This means in effect it only costs you 0.5 ME per element, you do not lose the corresponding 0.5 ME to each command that contributed. The cost-benefit trade off seems good enough to be cheesy, so it probably was not Phil's intention.

I have to say sorry to Lawrence, I did not understand what you were saying before, all I can say is WOW of table train commands are getting better looking every day.

William ' the disagreeable'

MikeCampbell

  • Guest
Re: To arrive or not that is the question.
« Reply #16 on: February 16, 2009, 08:55:08 PM »
since stragglers do not arrive they have no bound of arrival until they do arrive!  ;D


Richa_Eire

  • Guest
Re: To arrive or not that is the question.
« Reply #17 on: February 17, 2009, 08:52:52 AM »
And to show that evil ones do not prosper - William flank marched his baggage command last night and threw a 6 on his first turn...... He then threw a four for the arrival bound and had to bring it all on.....

Richard

MikeCampbell

  • Guest
Re: To arrive or not that is the question.
« Reply #18 on: February 17, 2009, 10:40:41 PM »
Poetic justice!! :D

a 2 would probably have been enough to make him bring it on as a single group.

william

  • Guest
Re: To arrive or not that is the question.
« Reply #19 on: February 18, 2009, 09:45:28 AM »
And to show that evil ones do not prosper - William flank marched his baggage command last night and threw a 6 on his first turn...... He then threw a four for the arrival bound and had to bring it all on.....

Richard

No he did not, the bold William flank marched using sheep herds Bg(I), the sheep excited about getting involved with the battle threw an early 6, next bound threw a 4 and decided ( as I think I can despite what the brains trust have stated here ) left them off table and straggling. The sheep could not be restrained however as they rolled a 4 for the next bound giving 1 move and a 6 the following bound ( if only the rest of the army got the same { to be fair I did ge 3 regular 6's at one point } ), leaving the sheep moving impresively towards a wood on Richard's side of the table ( but not entering it ).

Poetic justice!! :D

a 2 would probably have been enough to make him bring it on as a single group.


 8) No I need a 3 ( plus one for moving train and having command of which the general does not exist ).

But flank marching baggage does not give one the same high as expendables.

 ;D William

MikeCampbell

  • Guest
Re: To arrive or not that is the question.
« Reply #20 on: February 18, 2009, 10:07:55 PM »
2...3...what's a PIP between friends!! :)

william

  • Guest
Re: To arrive or not that is the question.
« Reply #21 on: February 18, 2009, 11:19:38 PM »
2...3...what's a PIP between friends!! :)

 ;D A lot between myself and Richard, after about 6 years or more he is still teaching me how to wheel properly (  ;) it annoys him something rotten when I get it wrong ).

William

Richa_Eire

  • Guest
Re: To arrive or not that is the question.
« Reply #22 on: February 19, 2009, 09:59:26 AM »

 ;D A lot between myself and Richard, after about 6 years or more he is still teaching me how to wheel properly (  ;) it annoys him something rotten when I get it wrong ).

William

No, no your getting that wrong....... its not the wheeling that annoys me something rotten - its ?  ;D