Ah yes - you spotted my intentional error!

Quite right, I got my numbers the wrong way round!
Yes I suppose the crucial part (in the absence of any rules to the contrary) is whether element #2 leaving the column complies with the rule 'exiting from within a column'. Does 'within' imply it is neither the leading or trailing element? Or does 'within' mean 'in' or 'part of' a column?
The simpler wording would have been 'exiting a column' if Phil had intended to include
all elements within a column. However, he specifically used the word 'within' which leads me to believe it is not intended to include the leading or trailing element of a column. This is 180 degrees from my interpretation last weekend as a result of giving this question due thought.
However, for the combat in question, had the last element in the column moved first then I don't think there is an issue with element #2 making frontal contact given the 2nd half of the 2nd bullet point at the top of page 32 allows an element to slide between others into mutual front edge combat. Given there are no other elements exerting a TZ over element #2, I don't think any of the TZ rules prevent element #2 from making contact. Further, "geometric ploys" cannot be used to prevent contact and element #1 is not preventing element #2 from lining up (per the top of page 33).
So, depending on the sequence, I don't think it is a problem - moving the element from the rear of the column first would, IMO, remove all doubt.
Any differing opinions?
Cheers
Andrew