Author Topic: Single element moves for expendable etc  (Read 1952 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

adrian_escott

  • Guest
Single element moves for expendable etc
« on: July 29, 2009, 01:48:52 PM »
Hi all,

I am having problem understanding the restrictions on single element moves by Expendables, War Wagons or Ships.

The rules say " ... can only move forward or change direction by a pivot or wheel of less than 90 degrees, or a turn of 180 degrees"

It is not clear to me what combinations these can be used in, e.g. is it allowed to pivot and move forward, is it allowed to move forward, pivot and then move forward again, is it allowed to pivot twice in a move, is it allowed to both turn and pivot etc.

It is also not clear how a comibination move would be measured, e.g. measure between the initial and final positions or measure each part separately.

I assume that a combination is allowed and also that more than one pivot can be performed as a column of two expendables can perform multiple wheels. It would be strange if a single element move was more restrictive than a group move.

Any help on this would be appreciated.

Thanks

Adrian

 

LawrenceG

  • Guest
Re: Single element moves for expendable etc
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2009, 05:05:37 PM »
I think you are probably right.

vexillia

  • Guest
Re: Single element moves for expendable etc
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2009, 07:44:49 PM »
I am having problem understanding the restrictions on single element moves by Expendables, War Wagons or Ships.
The rules say " ... can only move forward or change direction by a pivot or wheel of less than 90 degrees, or a turn of 180 degrees"

See http://tinyurl.com/nrbujr for an article on WWg including movement - what's allowed for single elements is very different from column.  In general I think the single element restriction should apply to columns but that's just me.

It is not clear to me what combinations these can be used in, e.g. is it allowed to pivot and move forward, is it allowed to move forward, pivot and then move forward again,

Yes

is it allowed to pivot twice in a move, is it allowed to both turn and pivot etc.

Not sure totally sure but the rule you quoted above is in the singular so one pivot.

It is also not clear how a combination move would be measured, e.g. measure between the initial and final positions or measure each part separately.

If it's only one pivot or wheel this isn't an issue - initial to final no & corner moves more than maximum.

I assume that a combination is allowed and also that more than one pivot can be performed as a column of two expendables can perform multiple wheels.

Dangerous move.  Single elements are different from groups by design so your base assumption is flawed.  You can't use column moves to justify single element moves.

It would be strange if a single element move was more restrictive than a group move.

Welcome to DBMM.

MikeCampbell

  • Guest
Re: Single element moves for expendable etc
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2009, 10:48:11 PM »
Yes you can combine - it doesn't say you are limited to only one of those in a turn - it says that that is how they change direction (a mechanism) without any limits on the number of changes of direction that can be performed.

adrian_escott

  • Guest
Re: Single element moves for expendable etc
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2009, 11:13:17 AM »
Thanks for the responses