My interpretation:
From page 28 :
"A tactical ... move by a single element ... can be in any direction ... ."
From page 30:
"To move its front edge into contact or overlap with the closest enemy element in reach part of which is directly in front... ."
Given this is a single element, it is not constrained by the group movement rules and can place it's front edge into contact with the flank of the enemy, without stipulating how it got there, given there are no other issues with TZs, interpenetration and gaps etc. This was what initially confused me with your questions - I think the outcome is correct for the full flank contact, but the method as to how you got there is not. If the spontaneous element was the lead element of a column then the method of movement may be as you have shown it.
Agree? Disagree?
Cheers
Andrew