Author Topic: Book 3 errata  (Read 11152 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Barritus

  • Guest
Book 3 errata
« on: July 12, 2011, 03:26:53 PM »
Welsh: From 1150 to 1322 you can get Marcher English allies, listed as Feudal English. But the Feudal English list only runs from 1181. What do you do for allies from 1150 to 1181? (Presumably use Anglo-Normans?)

Welsh: North Welsh from 1150 can have South Welsh or Manx Viking allies. As there's no termination date, presumably these allies are available until the end of the Welsh list in 1420. But were the Manx still Viking-ish in the early 15th century?

Orcoteuthis

  • Guest
Re: Book 3 errata
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2011, 09:04:25 PM »
Unless otherwise is explicitly specified, you can't use allies outside the dates of their own list, so no viking allies after AD 1280.

Barritus

  • Guest
Re: Book 3 errata
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2011, 02:39:42 PM »
Fair enough.

The issue about the Feudal English allies remains unresolved (though fairly minor).

Barritus

  • Guest
Re: Book 3 errata
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2011, 12:32:31 PM »
Early Hungarian: The normal list provides 2-4 nobles (Irr Kn (F)), and after 1150 half of them are upgraded to Irr Kn (O), while the other half are regraded to Irr Cv (S) (along with the gentry upgraded from Irr Cv (O) to Irr Cv (S)). All well and good. But the Komnenan Byzantines can use these Hungarians as allies. In that case, how do you classify the nobles? 2-4 elements in the original list provides only 1 element to be used in the allied command, but is it Irr Kn (O) orIrr Cv (S)? My personal opinion is Irr Kn (O), but I'd be curious to hear what others think.

LAP1964

  • Guest
Re: Book 3 errata
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2011, 12:58:17 AM »
As they are both compulsory,maybe there should be 1 of each?  :-\
Or as the Cv(S) upgrade is listed first, that should be used?  :-\
LES 

Barritus

  • Guest
Re: Book 3 errata
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2011, 04:13:35 AM »
Again not so much an erratum as a question:

The Later Pre-Islamic Arabs (Ghassanid version) can have Maurikian Byzantine allies. How do you work out the contingent?

The main problem is the Kavallarioi Cv (S), of which in the Maurikian list you have to get 9-12, but of which 0 or 4 can be downgraded to LH (S). So, as allies you'd have to take 3-4 of the Kavallarioi.

But how many of the Cv (S) can you downgrade to LH (S)?

Orcoteuthis

  • Guest
Re: Book 3 errata
« Reply #6 on: October 14, 2011, 08:31:15 AM »
I don't have the book at hand (typing this from work), so maybe am missing something, but it seems obvious you can downgrade 0 or 2.

LAP1964

  • Guest
Re: Book 3 errata
« Reply #7 on: October 14, 2011, 08:57:38 PM »
Wouldn't it not work like upgrades,which are 0 - whatever for Allied Commands.So you get 1/4 -1/3, maybe you can downgrade 1 ?
LES  
« Last Edit: October 20, 2011, 08:39:17 AM by LAP1964 »

tadamson

  • Guest
Re: Book 3 errata
« Reply #8 on: October 19, 2011, 05:23:54 PM »
Again not so much an erratum as a question:

The Later Pre-Islamic Arabs (Ghassanid version) can have Maurikian Byzantine allies. How do you work out the contingent?

The main problem is the Kavallarioi Cv (S), of which in the Maurikian list you have to get 9-12, but of which 0 or 4 can be downgraded to LH (S). So, as allies you'd have to take 3-4 of the Kavallarioi.

But how many of the Cv (S) can you downgrade to LH (S)?

'0 or 4' goes to '0 or 1'    1 being the only whole number in the range 1 - 1.33333

Barritus

  • Guest
Re: Book 3 errata
« Reply #9 on: November 08, 2011, 11:08:28 AM »
List 56, Khitan Liao: Can the Jurchen prisoner allies have baggage?

LAP1964

  • Guest
Re: Book 3 errata
« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2011, 10:51:09 AM »
A similar one is the Thessalian and Pisidian allies in the Galatian list (Bk #30)
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/DBMMlist/message/76261?threaded=1&l=1

PB's answer was it's intended that they don't get baggage.But if it's ment to be the same for all lists,only 1 person knows. ::)
LES

Orcoteuthis

  • Guest
Re: Book 3 errata
« Reply #11 on: November 09, 2011, 07:16:45 PM »
Indented allies often (usually?) get their own baggage, so  I'd presume ti's the general intention those that don't have it listed can't have any baggage.

Barritus

  • Guest
Re: Book 3 errata
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2011, 03:13:37 AM »
Welsh again: Owain Glyndwr is marked as an Inert C-in-C for himself, or as an Inert Ally "in English Army". Which English army would this be? The Hundred Years War English are the only contemporary English army, but they don't have any provision for Welsh allies.

Barritus

  • Guest
Re: Book 3 errata
« Reply #13 on: June 03, 2012, 12:19:10 PM »
Thematic Byzantine: The entry for archers reads
Quote
Reg Ps (O) @ 2AP [can support skoutatoi], or if in excess of 1 per 2 skoutatoi - Reg Bw (O) @ 5     5-10

Okay, so which version of the archers is compulsory? I'd long read it that any archers in excess of half the number of skoutatoi must be Bw and any before that can be Ps or Bw; but now I'm starting to think that any archers in excess of half the number of skoutatoi can be Bw or Ps and any before that must be Ps.

For example, say I get 12 Skoutatoi and 10 Archer elements. Half the skoutatoi is 6. Is it:

(a) The first 6 can be Bw or Ps and the last 4 must be Bw; or
(b) The first 6 must be Ps and the last 4 can be Bw or Ps.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2012, 01:19:47 PM by Barritus »

Orcoteuthis

  • Guest
Re: Book 3 errata
« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2012, 08:42:12 AM »
I've always read it as (b). Don't see how you could read it as (a) to be honest.

Assuming (b) is indeed intended, it might have been more clearly written something like this:

Archers - Reg Ps (O) @2AP [can support skoutatoi]    5-10
Upgrade archers in excess of 1 per 2 skoutatoi to Reg Bw (O) @5AP    Any