Dear all,
I think I'm doing it correctly, but I would like conformation. An flank marching ally can only arrive on table with a 6 all the game (no delayed startagem paid).
Well, it's not just Delay Battle which affects the arrival of flank marches.
1. A Brilliant Ally general who was flank marching could reduce the score required by 1.
2. A Brilliant C-in-C could use the Flank Attack stratagem to reduce the score required by 1.
So while most allies will only arrive on a 6, it's theoretically possible for one to arrive on a 4, 5 or 6.
This means its command must arrive within 400 p of opposing enemy's rear edge. Correct?
No. The rule says that a flank march "...arrives anywhere in the opposing side's half of the specified flank edge..." If you roll a 6 for arrival (assuming no Brilliance is involved, then that will always be the case), and if the flank march is by land, then it can also arrive on the 400 paces of the enemy's base edge nearest the declared flank.
At our club we play on tables which are 180cm x 120cm. If you roll a 5 or less for a flank march's arrival, it appears on the 60cm of the flank edge on the enemy's side of the table. If you roll a 6, then you can also include the 20cm of the enemy's base edge nearest the relevant flank edge.
This means that a flanking sub-general can arrive everywhere with a 5 and like an ally with a 6. Correct?
Not really. Remember, sub-generals only reduce the score needed for arrival from the 5th bound onwards. Before then, they arrive just like an ally general.
Thank you in advance.
I hope this helps, but if you have any questions, please ask.